Now I’m Ready to Start.

by fromthetigersmouth

Oh Hi there. Long time no see.

Yes, I’m bloody terrible at this blogging jazz, but hey, it’s nearly four posts this year, so it’s literally four times more than the year before.

And what a year it’s been: In the past few months there have been a lot of up’s and down’s, but don’t fret, that’s not the purpose of dragging you here – this is a post to look forward, something I’m oft known to forget. Usually I’m stuck staring at my own two feet because of far too many Dreher. However, this is the year of the Goat according to Chinese Scholars, and as a child of ’91 who falls under it’s goaty gaze, I’m apt to grab it by it’s horns. Much is happening and this post is about that much.

First and foremost, I decided to hand in my resignation. Some saw this as an act of madness or trauma to the face – Indeed, you couldn’t fault them: I was in a well paid job, I had security, I had recognition, I got to wear suits and pretend I was in Madmen, I once spent 4 hours colouring in giant Pound and Dollar signs on enormous burlap sacks. Please note, this wasn’t to do with work, I wasn’t the Hamburglar. 

But therein lied the problem, despite my well-cut attire, I wasn’t truly happy. Don’t get me wrong, it’s truly been an experience – I embraced espresso; I became well-versed in the writ of Excel, I learnt that certain phrases of absolute gibberish can garter praise in any meeting (“Can we Take this offline” and “Blue-skies Thinking” stand as personal favourites). I well and truly became a corporate suit. But as those of you who really know me, such a world, although interesting, isn’t the world for me.

That’s not to say that the excursion into the corporate world didn’t prove to be genuinely fruitful: I’ve also made some fantastic friends, some of them life-long who have helped me through thick and thin and for that I cannot thank them enough. I’ve also gained some valuable skills and realised that I can actually get a lot done when I put my mind to it.

It’s this confidence that lead to my next-steps, truth be told.

Sometimes you’ve got to “grab a hold of the pen and take the lead” on life. The meetings grew wearisome and the project wound to a close. I thought it was high time to abandon ship in a sense. I can safely say it was the best decision I’ve made in a long while.

So what’s next?

Well first things first – I’ve decided to invest my efforts in the band; the big ol’ BL. We’re in the midst of making finishing touches to our ‘Soon-to-be-announced’ EP. I don’t want to blow our own trumpet, but I cannot wait to show you what we’ve been up to; I can quite comfortably say that both myself and the lads are proud of what we’ve made. Keep your ears peeled for more information as soon as it becomes available.

We’ve also got a lot of massive shows coming up – Firstly, local legend ‘Rutsfest’ on 24th May. It’s a fantastic day, busting at the seams with local talent and a cracking selection of booze, bbq and activities to keep yourself busy with. If you find yourself in the Wimbledon/Raynes Park this bank holiday weekend I sincerely ask you to check it out. 

Following that, it’s plain sailing to Heather Music Festival in Leicestershire on 24-26 July. We’re going to be opening up the Queens stage and for more details head to the link hanging over these words for more info. 

Finally, we’ve somehow managed to score a slot at Livestock Festival.

Camping: CHECK, Booze: CHECK, Scouting for Girls: CHECK, The Feeling: CHECK, The Hoosiers: CHECK, TOPLOADER: MOFUCKIN’ CHECK!

21995_686227558177469_7429939760023281305_n

Those are actual people I’ve heard of. Like, real bands that are known for music that’s been played on the radio. In fact I’m quite certain all of them have had number ones. I would sense-check that, but it’s late. Fine, probably top 10’s. Either way…BLOODY HELL WERE PLAYING A PROPER BIG FESTIVAL.

Now as some of you quick witted fellows may have noticed, there’s a rather big gap in the calendar between Rutsfest and Heather Music Festival. A whole month infact.

That’s because I’ve decided to bugger off to Central America to live in a tree house.

Yes, you read that perfectly fine. Now, before you worry that I actually have gone stark raving mad, know this: It was always going to happen one way or another. But on a serious note, I felt it was high-time to see some more of this big blue ball hurtling round at millions of miles per hour around an even bigger orange one.

It feels strange thinking that my last true adventure abroad was five years ago. Five long years, with the length of five long winters. Wordsworthean sentiment aside, I’ve had the best five years of my life and I wouldn’t change them in the slightest, but in order to keep that energy going I need to get out and breath in some of the world again. So I’m heading off with one of my best friends for eight weeks, travelling down from USA to meet two wonderful Aussies and live in the Hostel they’ve recently overrun.

Who know’s, I might even “find myself”. Or I’ll get eaten/kidnapped.

Either way stay tuned and I’ll keep you posted as best I can. Expect many a highjinks and preferably as few highjacks as possible.

As to the title of this blog, I ended up stumbling upon “The Suburbs” a few weeks ago and felt that that the track more than adequately summed up my feelings at the time:


Now I’m ready to start.

H x

BENGAL LANCERS WILL BE PLAYING: 

RUTSFEST – 24th May 2015

HEATHER MUSIC FESTIVAL – 24th July 2015

LIVESTOCK FESTIVAL – 02nd August 2015

